CALOHEE Phase I – Key Documents

The CALOHEE Consortium proudly presents the outcomes of the project Measuring and Comparing Achievements of Learning Outcomes in Higher Education in Europe.

These outcomes are conceptual qualifications and assessment reference frameworks for five subject areas, chosen to represent significant academic domains: Engineering (Civil Engineering), Social Sciences (Teacher Education), Humanities (History), Health Care (Nursing) and Natural Sciences (Physics). The  frameworks are flexible reference documents, which offer detailed insight into what students are expected to learn to be prepared well for their future role in society, both in terms of the workplace and civic, social and cultural engagement. They also offer a robust basis for comparing students’ performance in European wide context.
The instruments allow for precise measurement, while taking into account the different missions, orientations and profiles of Higher Education institutions and their degree programmes.

Subject Area Qualifications and Assessment Reference Frameworks

The Subject Area Qualifications Reference Frameworks (QRF) are the outcomes of elaborations by groups of informed academics and students and of consultations of a wide circle of stakeholders.
They are based on a merger of the Qualifications Framework of the European Higher Education Area (QF of the EHEA) and the European Qualifications Framework for Lifelong Learning (EQF for LLL) and are meant to serve as a sound basis for defining the programme learning outcomes of individual degree programmes of the first and second cycle (Bachelor and Master).  Basing the individualized sets of learning outcomes on the frameworks will guarantee that ‘standards’ which have been agreed and validated internationally are fully respected.

The descriptors in the Reference Frameworks are organized on the basis of ‘dimensions’. A dimension indicates a constructive key element, which defines a subject area. Each subject area is based on a multiple of dimensions. These dimensions are linked to the five strands of the QF of the EHEA. By applying the categories of the EQF for LLL each dimension involves three descriptors – knowledge, skills and autonomy and responsibility (‘wider competences’) -, which reflect a progressive level of achievement.

For a summary of the Subject Area Qualifications Reference Frameworks click the button below:

Click here for the Subject Area Qualifications Reference Frameworks (Summary)

The much more detailed Assessment Reference Frameworks presented below offer – besides a breakdown of subject area general descriptors in measurable learning outcomes statements – examples of good practice of learning, teaching and assessment methods and approaches to achieve the learning outcomes defined. The use of a variety of appropriate methods and approaches is another indicator for deciding on the quality of a degree programme. They offer broad ‘menus’ of what has been identified as the learning of subject area and allow for motivated choices regarding the composition and implementation of individual degree programmes.

Click here for the Assessment Reference Frameworks

Guidelines and Reference Points Brochures

Presented here are the Guidelines and Reference Points Brochures for five subject areas:

Click here for the Civil Engineering Brochure

Click here for the Teacher Education Brochure

Click here for the History Brochure

Click here for the Nursing Brochure

Click here for the Physics Brochure